Buried Alive By Smoke

There’s an ugly taste behind the comfort of your flame.
Inhaling your wretchedness, exhaling your beauty, I find that everything becomes clearer, the answers appear to be much simpler.
The sweetness of your sin, the reassurance of your power, the utter submission of my being has yet to leave a sour sting.

At times, I cannot comprehend your appeal (the spell you seem to cast), but when I’m in your presence, I realize that there was never anything to comprehend in the first place.
The flash, that crackling bellow and the freedom it brought on threw me head-on into the throes of seduction, my passion for your gaze unsurpassed.

Light years away, and I can still feel the mark you left on me.
A decade since I first found solace in your sting, and yet I cannot recall when last you crossed my mind.

I left you in the past, where things should (and hopefully always will) stay buried.

© Copyright January 2017/July 2023