Shadow Show

Immortality waits for no one, and I am no exception.
I have lived throughout the ages, my traveling carnival show bound by the splendor of the night.
My skin crawls with the intricate drawings of ink and magic for I am the illustrated one.

Blowing into town in the late of October, ushering in All Hallow’s Eve a week early, we’ve crossed the threshold to astonish and amaze.
Riding on the wings of Samhain, this is the time of year we have always lived for, when our power is at its brightest, all consuming.
Many have come far and wide to bear witness to the spectacle that is our shadow show, naïve nonetheless to the charming song the carousel plays, the promise of dark desires brought on by the piper’s hand. 

Traveling beyond the fabric of time, we venture into the Green, a town too humble, still untouched by our devious hands.
Of all the souls I have encountered, stolen with a sincere promise turned oh so sinister, there have never been any like those of Nightshade and Halloway.
Righteous indeed, albeit seduced by the mystery, the legacy of myself and the promise of immortality (youth eternal), they were always destined to destroy me for the humanity they possess deep within their souls is far too bright for the darkness that creeps across mine. 

Who knew two thirteen year olds would be my end?
I suppose the blood that runs coldly through my veins is much too dark, far too malevolent to last forever.
However the memory of my conquests, the lives I have annihilated, shall last forever for I am and will always be the illustrated one. 

The run was superb while it lasted. 

© Copyright September 2016/October 2016/November 2016

Leave a Reply

