Eternal

Bound by my flesh and leather sanctuary, I hear the siren’s call.
That familiar buzz, the sound that breaks through any and all silences, cannot be replicated.
As the needle meets my skin, I am acquainted with a pain that can be traced to long ago, but is unlike any other. 

I cannot help but think of all those who have come before me, and all of those that never will.
The marks emblazoned on my hips shall forever be a memory to a time once passed, where the sun shown on my skin in the deepest of ways and the water gripped my very spirit.
A remembrance to that time passed and one that will never come again. 

It is rather inevitable that I find myself here once again, bound to you ever so tightly.
For I fear that you may just have whatever is left of my soul, the sliver that is not already stolen by the moonlight and Autumn’s breeze.
Instead of a memorial to a mere memory, forged in flesh and ink is a tribute to the very ones who brought me unto this Earth, for here is no Heavenly Father in this equation. 

But rather the hard-working and loving human beings for to whom which I am eternally and unconditionally grateful, regardless of opinion or quarrel.
Lead on through the pain by the new lords of rock ‘n roll, true lords of the wasteland, I come away equally bloody but clean all the same.
Beautiful semblances of love atop the soft and tender flesh of my feet, remarkably etched by a gentleman of incredible talent, a true master of his craft. 

Your Christ ain’t got shit on me. 

© Copyright March 2016/August 2016/September 2016

Haunt

I found myself slipping away.
I found myself encapsulated in the silent solitude, the raging tides of an inconceivable dream.
I found myself slipping away.
Brazen and bruised from fighting the good fight.
The battle inside my body and mind is nothing more than a bracing afterthought.

I fall into a blackened abyss, the state of drowning inevitability.
I fall into a frenzied delusion, a wretched kind of hope only reserved for those who are primed and ready for the end.
I fall into an ocean, its tides sending me off into another time entirely, their waves blacker than the blood in my veins.
Brazen and bruised from fighting the good fight.
The battle inside my body and mind is nothing more than everything I’ve ever imagined it to be.

The likes of which will forever haunt me.

© Copyright February 2016/March 2016/August 2016/September 2016