Uneventful Game of ‘Wits’

Forget volleyball. It’s not that I’ve given up playing volleyball. That’s not the case at all. I just refuse to get plowed over by people who are taller and stronger than me. Or to play with people who have no idea how to play. Not my cup of lemon tea…

The volleyball net is in the middle of the gym, with two basketball hoops on either side. There are two gym classes the period I have gym, my gym class and the other gym class. This usually means that boys who hope to be the next big thing in basketball, totally dominate both of the hoops.  Heightening the risk for me or really anyone else, to be ran over by ignorant boys. The entire reason why I don’t even bother playing volleyball.

Yesterday, it seemed like there were somehow more people than there were last week. More than likely the reason why we weren’t penalized if we didn’t wear our appropriate gym attire. I took advantage of this opportunity. I forgot my clothes in my locker upstairs anyway.  For some reason, I just didn’t feel like even doing anything. I wasn’t physically ready for gym, and I couldn’t help but count the minutes til my last bell of the day rang.

Despite the fact there were more people, there weren’t as many guys playing basketball. I figured I actually would pass the time playing volleyball. I wish I hadn’t. I wish I had finished the last 8 pages of the book I was reading. Part of me appreciates that I did. It only confirmed how irritating people can be. I know that it’s not easy playing volleyball. When I first started playing in 6th grade, I sucked, but over time I became better. But not being able to hit the ball straight? To the person right in front of you? It’s not that hard. Some people aren’t athletic and what not, but it’s not complicated.

The teams were pretty freakin’ uneven. There were, like, 6 or 7 people on the opposing team, and 4 on the team I was on. They weren’t in any type of positions, either. Just one semi-straight line of people, waiting for the ball to come their way. Some people were hitting the ball too hard, others too lightly. After awhile, I didn’t even hit the ball if it came to me. I didn’t care. Very uneventful. It was a pretty pointless game. Wished I hadn’t played.

Just another way people can get on my nerves and force me to look down on them because they’re ignorant. This is just a whole lot of ranting. Plenty more to come in the future.

Physical education = A joke

Leave a Reply

