Last Day of Freedom

I woke up this morning to the unfamiliar chill coming from my open window. That minute, right then and there, I knew that summer is coming to a close. I stood on my bed and looked out the window. The sky looked grey, the equivalent of a fall morning. Despite the fact that it’s still August. I found myself waking up at 7:15, which is pretty early in my book. The earliest I’ve ever woken up this summer. Not the norm of 10:00, 11:00, or sometimes noon. No sir or madam, not today.

This summer went by too quickly. It strangely didn’t feel like it was going by very fast when it was still in its prime, but now that it’s tapering away, it’s gone by too quickly. I sort of feel like I wasted the summer away alittle bit. Like I did absolutely nothing for almost 2 and a half months. Contrary to my beliefs, this is so not true. I was actually free to do what I wanted, with some minor restrictions. No drinking or drunk tattoos/piercings, not that I would anyway. I’m smarter than that. I actually have some sense. With this freedom, I hung out with my friends, severed relationships with people I’m better off without, went to concerts, found out new things about my friends, broke in my new dark purple bathing suit, expressed a random assortment of my loves, hates and everything in between on this blog of mine you’re currently reading…I’d say I did alot this summer.

Today is the last day of summer break. School starts tomorrow, and I’m not mentally ready. My mind just isn’t motivated like my body is. Sometimes I wish summer didn’t have to be over. Today is my last day of summer freedom.

This year went by too fast.

2 thoughts on “Last Day of Freedom

  1. I agree with everything you just wrote.
    I have one more week of summer vacation, but it doesn’t feel like summer anymore. The weather is getting so chilly, and I hate it!
    (And what really sucks is that right now I should be saying that I have two more weeks of summer vacation, but they moved the start of the school year a week earlier than it was supposed to be!)

    • That sucks that you have to go to school a week earlier. I think everyone should go back to school after Labor Day, but then again, we’d get out later 😦 The weather is getting pretty chilly for the end of August. I guess that’s just autumn’s way of reminding you that it’s on it’s way. Make it chilly early. Go figure. Mother Nature works in crazy ways sometimes.

Leave a Reply

